Taking a glance back, but still looking forward…

If you had to pick a song list for a Taylor Hicks New Year’s Eve concert, what would it be?  Now thanks to the magic of the internet, we have, in Taylor’s own hand, his top song choices.

taylor-hicks

So, what do you think?  Agree?  Disagree?  Additions?  And seriously, “The Wiggles”??!?

18 Responses to “Taking a glance back, but still looking forward…”

  1. Surely he was joking about the Wiggles.

  2. Isn’t that his list of ‘party videos’?

  3. hmmm…well, hell. Yes it is. Ooops.

    Ok, what does everybody think about his top video choices? hahhaahha

  4. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, I have read that “The Wiggles” are one of his favorites, go figure. Couldn’t add anything to the list all great choices.

    iag, Found this on the internet, that is interesting what you can find.

    Have A Happy New Year everyone!! 🙂

    JI

  5. Virtual Speak Says:

    I for one, love really bad 80’s songs and think his list is pretty good. 😆

    I can’t make out the first one. I read this list a long time ago. The Wiggles thing makes me laugh. Now, I’ll have “Fruit Salad.. Yummy.. Yummy..” running through my head the rest of the day.

    Happy New Year!

  6. jerseyirish Says:

    VS, I think the frist one says “Dancing on the Ceiling” by Lionel Ritchie, could be wrong but that is what I thought it said.

    JI

  7. The thing that kills me is that this list is SO dated. When Taylor talks about “AM Gold radio”, he’s not kidding. I mean, dude, there WAS some good music after 1986!!!

  8. This is how I read the list:
    Dancing on the Ceiling
    Simply Irresistable
    Call Me Al
    Mind is Playing Tricks on Me
    Thriller
    I Want My MTV
    Streets Have No Name
    Everybody Wants to Rule the World
    Shout

  9. You think it’s dated? I’m just disappointed that Taylor has a video list from the 80’s and there is not one Kajagoogoo song on it! I guess maybe Taylor isn’t “too shy shy” after all. Yeah, I actually have fantasies of seeing Taylor with spikey racoon hair, singing “The Neverending Story” theme.

    Okay, I’ll “hush hush” now . . . and besides that’s pretty much all I can think of to say about Kajagoogoo. But the cool thing is that I managed to mention the name Kajagoogoo three times in this comment.

  10. hahhhahahaa soulaz…

    Is anybody else concerned that these videos are on his list as his “Ultimate party videos”??!??

    Seriously?

    Wow. That would be one hell of a party.

    /sarcasm

    😉

  11. Are we sure AI checked his borth certificate? 🙂

  12. BIRTH certificate. sheesh.

  13. soulaz, I have a longing to see Taylor with the “Flock of Seagulls” doo, mysefl!! I mean, it might be an improvement over the Teen Angel pomadour. 🙂

    And caryl, don’t dip into the champagne punch so early, wait ’til at least noon PST. LOL.

  14. jerseyirish Says:

    Wow, You guys are funny today, Taylor always said he was a throw back to earlier music, I guess thats what he enjoys most. Definetly all them are from the 80’s.

    iag, Do you know when this list was made? That would be interesting if it is a current list.

    JI

  15. JI, I think that list is from when he was on TRL on MTV. I remember seeing it on the MTV site. It was something they had all their visiting celebs fill out.

    Sorry, iag, just jumping in…

  16. jerseyirish Says:

    YKW, Thanks, just was curious where it came from. So that would be in the last two years then he did this list.

    JI

  17. brightlite Says:

    What can we say about the list. Taylor is Taylor, he is a throwback, and that old spirit can’t help but enjoy the rhythm of the 80’s. I would add, if still in the 80’s mode, Kool and the Gang’s “Celebrate” and perhaps throw in some classic Donna Summer, but then I would be cross-decading. The 70’s had the very best music in my opinion, it was still chock full of real instruments and real bands. The 80’s seemed to usher in the age of “techno” music and sounds that were computer generated, and I am really not a fan of the later 80’s music to be honest. But his list is fun, Simply Irresistible is a great tune, one of my favorites. I love Old Lang Syne, it is personally meaningful to me, and with the loss of Fogelberg just over a year ago, it is a pretty sad song, but depending on the crowd, it might make them cry, and New Year’s Eve is no place for tears…it is a time for CHEERS!
    So “CHEERS” and Happy New Year 2009!
    BL

  18. GEEZ… I was busy changing poopie diapers in the 80’s…. give me some real Classic Rock Taylor.

    Anyway… just stopped by to wish you all a Happy New Year. May we all rejoice in perfect Taylor music this year, without any name calling and in fighting amongst the ranks ( present company excluded here of course). May we all share in the joy of the music….

    IAG..thanks for a nice place to hang once in a while to mix with old and new friends…

    CHEERSIN!!!

Leave a Reply

