The Whole Package

Here’s the truth: Taylor isn’t the most talented singer out there. There are people who have a better range, who can hold notes longer, who even have a better tone. But here’s another truth: He is the best performer that I’ve ever seen. Now, I haven’t seen a whole lot of concerts, but I watch TV and peruse the internet. I know what it means to be entertained. And this man is entertaining.

The way that he can bring an audience into a song fascinates me. I have been at concerts before and felt transformed, to a different place and time, and everything that was bothering me or worrying me went away for those few minutes. But, let’s be realistic, he’s not going to heal incurable diseases, he’s not going to save third world countries from utter devastation and he’s probably never going to have the fame and fortune that he truly desires. However, that being said, he can make people feel good, and that’s a pretty damn good talent to have.

Here’s the question: Do you think Taylor is really happy playing for small crowds at intimate venues? Or do you think he wants to be playing the big arenas, packed to the gills, like some of the other American Idols? Even though he won, there are others who play bigger venues, make more money, sell more albums. Is that because Taylor is difficult to work with, as rumors have suggested? Is it because he doesn’t like to listen to producers and others in the music industry? I know that I’ve heard stories about him regarding those aspects. What do you think?

For now, here’s a little Robbie Williams, entertaining us.

14 Responses to “The Whole Package”

  1. Taylor said he would like to play Wembley Stadium, so, yes, Taylor would like to be in the superstar status, the same way as Carrie Underwood, and Kelly Clarkson. I’m not going to speculate what happened behind closed doors, because I have no clue, but I do remember one of rag magazines saying that he was a “diva” on Idol shortly after he won.. who knows if it’s true or not.

  2. What? No speculation? What fun is that? ahahha

    I just remember the rumors of Taylor not listening to music executives about marketing and the such. I don’t know if it’s true but he’s a pretty damn determined dude…

  3. First of all I think he is such a great performer because he is original. He does his own thing, his way, and it works. Maybe that originality got in the way of him cooperating with the execs. In his book he said he likes smaller venues where he can get feed back from the audience, but I do think he would like to be able to sell out giant arenas. He also said in his book how he enjoyed the thousands of screaming fans on the Idol tour. There is one thing for sure, he is at his best live, and he does want fame.

  4. “The way that he can bring an audience into a song fascinates me.” I like the way you said that.

    I’ve said on other blogs that I’m not interested in Taylor the actor, but I have this bad feeling that that is his future. The general public doesn’t seem interested in his style of music, but they love him as an entertainer. Don’t know exactly where he’ll land, but maybe musical theater is going to steal him away from us. I have a feeling he would hate it, too, if that’s all he wound up doing.

  5. I’m interested to see the melding of the theater show and the feature segment of his upcoming single. From reports that’s happening after the New Year. Let’s hope he doesn’t bog down in the mire of being unable to decide which tune that single will be and keep postponing debuting it – that won’t be to his advantage. I mean, surely when he worked this record he’d already had in mind the initial single as the inspirational track driving this work.

    Why I’m bringing that up ties in with Caryl’s post. If he’s got a hot number, it may work to eclipse the play being the main draw and bring folks out to hear him do his music thing. It could work to solidify he’s a musician first, entertainer inclusive, Broadway actor last.

    Ah, there I go wearing those rose colored shades. 😉

  6. Feedback from his fans? Well that would be interesting if he would ever open up on stage. I’ve been to many concerts, and I’ve only seen him open and interactive with his fans a couple of times. Most of the others have been, on stage, sing, off stage. Not to say that he didn’t enjoy himself, but I think he needs to truly be open to connect with his fans, if that’s even a goal of his.

  7. Virtual Speak Says:

    Some good food for thought here IAG.. I’ll have to think about some of the questions you pose..

  8. Virtual Speak Says:

    IAG Asks:

    1. Do you think Taylor is really happy playing for small crowds at intimate venues?

    I think he sate his appetite for large audiences during the Idol tour and made a few comments that he much prefers the smaller intimate settings.

    2. Or do you think he wants to be playing the big arenas, packed to the gills, like some of the other American Idols?

    There has to be some desire for that. His was probably early on, and once he experienced it, he decided it wasn’t for him. See answer number one.

    3. Even though he won, there are others who play bigger venues, make more money, sell more albums. Is that because Taylor is difficult to work with, as rumors have suggested?

    My personal opinion is that he probably is difficult to some degree. This question has always added to the speculation and made me ask more questions such as.. Was he always difficult? Did he grow to be more impossible because of the shoddy treatment he received at the hands of American Idol?
    In his latest interview he says he’ll be returning to Idol this season to hawk his new record. Why? There’s a fine line between being “Mr. Nice Guy.” and knowing when to cut your loses and walk away. I know if I was treated as badly as he was, I would tell them all to pound salt. Is he truly a glutton for punishment? Does he have Stockholm Syndrome?

    4. Is it because he doesn’t like to listen to producers and others in the music industry?

    We’ve all heard the “stories” how factual they are, nobody knows. In his case, he was probably right not to listen to any of the producers he had. They did nothing for him. From the look of things, as a fan, it seems they never did right by Taylor.

    To bad, he doesn’t write a tell all book and just let it all out. I think there was a deal brokered behind the scenes before the finale, and he knew how things were going to go down. But, he’s gagged.

  9. I think the reason Taylor is returning to Idol is because it gets tens of millions of viewers weekly, from all around the world. And when you’re Taylor Hicks, you’re always willing to pay the devil.

    He needs a buzz for this cd, and being on AI will do that for him.

  10. Oh, and VS, I completely agree with your interpretation of the finale.

  11. Virtual Speak Says:

    In his position, I would probably pay the devil a bit more also. But, integrity is something that can’t be easily replaced, once you cashed in all your chips.

    The finale thing is something I’ve always thought. From the day Daughtry took “the fall.” 😉

  12. Too many people take what Taylor says at face value instead of hearing what he doesn’t say which in my opinion is where the truth is.

  13. Very good point, casualfan. With Taylor, less IS more.

  14. VS, you’re right about the integrity thing, and that’s where the problem lies. When is he going to get that word is important? Maybe he’s not used to people depending on what he says, but he’s had a few years to figure that out now.

Leave a Reply

