Is this the new Taylor?

The Taylor fandom is abuzz over the opening of the Grease tour. I laughed my ass off reading comments about Taylor’s meet and greet. Seriously, he’s offering coffee and cake? I mean, is it just me? If I went to a meet and greet, I would hope Taylor would offer me a shot of tequila and a massage. But, the fans seem to be happy with it, so whatever.

In other exciting, world shattering news, Bill Will is working the merchandise table. Bill, who’s found yet another way to follow Taylor around the country, is now hawking tshirts and CD’s. Save a Grease glowstick for me, Bill!

Then, the interview. There are a couple of new ones, but this is particularly entertaining.

http://www.wpri.com/dpp/entertainment/local_wpri_up_close_with_taylor_hicks_20081203

Let’s break it down, shall we?

He looks so damn bored in the beginning. I guess he’s perfecting his tortured artist’s face. He goes on to talk about the cast, and how he’s the same person he’s always been. *yawn* But, then he talks about his intimate club tour, which is only one night per market, and how, after that, he’s going to tour in SE Asia. WHAT?!? Southeast Asia? I thought he was going tour in the US after this. *sigh*

This is where the interview gets funny. He talks about the music in his ipod. At first, I thought he said, “Bill’s been listening to Beyonce.” But, after further investigation, I’m pretty sure it’s his garbled southern twang saying, “Been listening to Beyonce.” I have so many things to say about that, but I’m not even going there, yet.

He looks good in these clips, although he looks a little pudgy, which is a good thing. But, the people who went to the tour are saying that he’s thin. So, I guess the old adage is true. You know, the one about tv adding ten pounds.

Meanwhile, I’m still looking for my dirty, sexy, hot, joint rolling, waking up at 2 in the afternoon not knowing where he is, hot, dirty, smoking, singing, scruffy, sexy bar singing hot bastard. I mean this guy.

taylorsmoking

and this guy, the who who messes up the lyrics:

I guess I’m still looking for the guy who’s bringing real music back to fucking pop music.

8 Responses to “Is this the new Taylor?”

  1. Of course Bill’s found another way to follow him around but that’s a different story, lol.

    Yeah, where’s my drunk, high, sexed up barfly anyway? I know the bastard’s still capable of it. We all saw him on his birthday. I still assume that’s the real him. Maybe he’s avoiding that, or trying to change himself? Maybe he just doesn’t get it. THERE’s a possibility. Maybe he really believes that the nasty bar guy thing isn’t gonna get him anywhere so he saves it just for personal socializing with friends and fakes a watered down version for public consumption. *sigh* who knows?

  2. itsallgrey Says:

    Yeah, I think you’re right. He might be thinking that it didn’t work for ten years, so why would it work now? I mean, I don’t know…it’s just an idea.

  3. “… so he saves it just for personal socializing with friends and fakes a watered down version for public consumption… ”

    I just wonder if Stangy is on to something, here. So, maybe he thinks he needs all the fans he found on AI. He needs to be the performer he was on AI. I mean, after all, look at the meltdown that happened when he cussed and *GASP* used the “F” word in the Rehearsal.com vids. Further back, look at all the conspiracies regarding the source of the mysterious smoke in the infamous Waffle House video (“It must be soooo cold in there, you can see his breath!!!”)

    Why would Taylor risk his long searched for fame and fortune, his life’s dream, for the pleasure of a few personal vices?? So Taylor thinks, “Fuck that, I’ll just be that guy that won AI!! They’ll never really know the ‘real’ me, anyway.”

    So that’s what we get, Soul Patrol. A Beyonce-listening, apologizin’ for swearin’ ma’am, cpffee and cake serving gentlemanly Southern boy instead of the REAL artist we’ve only seen hinted at, the performer we’ve been teased by.

    I’m still looking for that real artist, too, StrawGirl. Me, too.

  4. AI Taylor? Well, lessee. We all WERE attracted to that guy once, or we wouldn’t have voted for him. I’m not saying that’s who I’d rather see, but, we can’t hate that guy, either.

    I for one would love to see the drunk, bar band, scruffy, messy haired, pissy attitude, playin’ harp from the pool table, lyric fuckin’ up Taylor. But right now, if it would get his ass TOURING IN THE UNITED STATES AGAIN, I’ll put up with the AI dude. Please.

    Hell, I’d damn near put up with him wearing a skirt and singing “Raindrops on Roses and Whisker on Kittens” if it meant he’d BE TOURING.

    As long as he drops that dumb-ass lean over and “whooo!” UGH.

  5. Pipsmom,
    The song you’re referencing is actually titled “My Favorite Things” from another classic American musical “The Sound of Music”.

    Honestly, I believe Taylor’s native accent will get in the way of the character of the innocent nun-turned-nanny Maria (Von Trapp). And I don’t actually see Taylor doing well with the musical’s theme song of “The Sound of Music” … HOWEVER, I can see Bill Will in a stand out performance of Mother Superior singing “How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria/Taylor”. But I digress …

    If Taylor were to star in the Broadway revival, and naturally perform in the national tour, of “Sound of Music”, I would prefer to see him in the role of Captain Von Trapp. I think he would bring the house down with “Edelweiss”.

    Strudel for everyone!!!!

  6. YKW, I really hope you’re wrong when you said…

    “Why would Taylor risk his long searched for fame and fortune, his life’s dream, for the pleasure of a few personal vices?? So Taylor thinks, “Fuck that, I’ll just be that guy that won AI!! They’ll never really know the ‘real’ me, anyway.”

    So that’s what we get, Soul Patrol. A Beyonce-listening, apologizin’ for swearin’ ma’am, cpffee and cake serving gentlemanly Southern boy instead of the REAL artist we’ve only seen hinted at, the performer we’ve been teased by.”

    If that’s true, God help us all. 😉

  7. As long as he drops that dumb-ass lean over and “whooo!” UGH.

    ——————–
    Amen Sista! A-F******MEN!

  8. Oh, the whooo…it makes me cringe everytime I see it.

Leave a Reply

